Our Fellows

  • Director of Web Services
  • Cognitive Science
  • Dean's Office
  • Hive
921 Patterson Office Tower
(859) 257-6688

Congratulations to the incoming GSM class of 2015!

Wade Combs

Wade has an MS from Eastern Kentucky University, is native to Appalachia, and began his undergraduate years with an interest in elementary or secondary teaching. He developed an affinity for proof-oriented mathematics, pursued a master's degree, and has now come to UK. He wants to teach at "a large university" and writes that "I surely prefer theoretical, proof-based mathematics over applied math." 

Kevin Jones

Kevin Jones holds a bachelor's in Mathematics from Harris-Stowe University, an HBCU in the greater St. Louis area. Kevin wants to become a professor of mathematics at an HBCU. He writes "I was intrigued by the fact that not one of my mathematics professors is African-American. I believe that in order to get more African-Americans involved in Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM) programs, there must be more African-Americans with doctorate degrees to exhibit that completion of higher-level education in the hard sciences is possible."

Kalila Sawyer

Kalila Sawyer holds a bachelor's degree in Mathematics and a minor in English from the University of Alaska at Anchorage. The oldest of four children in a military family, she was homeschooled through primary and secondary school and attended the University of Alaska on full scholarship. She wants to teach mathematics at the college level.

Julianne Vega

Julianne Vega holds a bachelor's degree in Mathematics from Susquehanna University. She graduated in 2012 and has subsequently taught mathematics at the secondary school level. She participated in an RET-REU program at Linfield College and researched "relaxed variations of the total coloring game on trees and chordal graphs." She made a presentation of her work at MathFest 2014. She writes that "through [the Linfield] RET, I recognized that being a part of the math community and engaging in research are two very important aspects of my life." She wants to work in an institution where both teaching and research are valued.

Deborah Wilkerson

Deborah Wilkerson holds a bachelor's degree in Mathematics from the University of the Cumberlands, and is native to Appalachia. She has student-taught in schools including London Elementary, Berea Community Middle and High Schools, and Whitley County Middle and High Schools, and has been a Mathematics tutor in Madison county. She writes, "I believe earning an advanced degree will give me the depth of knowledge I desire to be the best possible teacher to my students."




Enter your linkblue username.
Enter your linkblue password.
Secure Login

This login is SSL protected