Service Assignments 2024-25

Departmental Officers

Nagel, Uwe Departmental officer, Chair

Braun, Ben Departmental officer, Director of Graduate Studies
Corso, Alberto Departmental officer, Director of Undergraduate Studies
Whitaker, erica Departmental officer, Director of Service Courses
Yip, Martha Departmental officer, Director of MathExcel

Executive Committee

Uwe Nagel Department chair, Ex Officio

Jack Schmidt (elected lecturer) Chair
Ding Lu (elected assistant professor)
Martha Yip (elected associate professor)

Peter Perry (elected professor)

Ben Braun Executive Committee as DGS
Alberto Corso Executive Committee as DUS
erica Whitaker Executive Committee as DSC

Promotion and Tenure Committee

Uwe Nagel Department chair, ex officio

Ben Braun Alberto Corso Ding Lu Martha Yip Peter Perry erica Whitaker

Salary Committee

Ye, Qiang Salary committee chair 2024-25 (elected member 2023-25)

Tohaneanu, Mihai (elected member for 2023-25)

Chung, Francis (elected member for 2024-26, 25-26 chair)

Corso, Alberto (elected member for 2024-26) Nguyen, Nicholas (elected member for 2024-26)

Tenure-Stream Hiring Committee

Jensen, Dave Serhiyenko, Khrystyna Shao, Fernando Yip, Martha Chair

Lecturer Recruiting Committee

Schmidt, Jack Elliott, Brad Golenbiewski, Kyle Qin, Jing Chair

Access, Community, and Engagement

Readdy, Margaret Burdick, Bradley Debray, Arun Cornejo, Alvaro Chair

Peer Teaching Observation Committee

Chung, Francis Gluesing-Luerssen Nguyen, Nicholas Zhou, Yuan Chair, Peer Teaching Observation Committee Peer Teaching Observation Committee Peer Teaching Observation Committee Peer Teaching Observation Committee

Teaching Postdoc Mentoring Committee

Braun, Benjamin Paullin, Katherine Schmidt, Jack Wawrzyniak, Chloe Whitaker, erica Teaching Postdoc Mentoring Committee Teaching Postdoc Mentoring Committee Teaching Postdoc Mentoring Committee Teaching Postdoc Mentoring Committee Teaching Postdoc Mentoring Committee

Graduate Program

Braun, Ben Manon, Chris Qin, Jing Graduate Program Committee as DGS Graduate Program Committee Graduate Program Committee

Graduate Admissions

Braun, Ben Murrugarra, Davis Stapleton, Nathaniel Tohaneanu, Mihai Graduate Admissions Committee as DGS Graduate Admissions Committee Graduate Admissions Committee Graduate Admissions Committee

Undergraduate Program

Corso, Alberto Undergraduate Committee as DUS Lu, Ding Undergraduate Committee

Murrugarra, David Undergraduate Committee Serhiyenko, KhrystynaUndergraduate Committee

Prelim Committees (Summer 2024 and January 2025)

Jensen, David Chair, Algebra prelim committee

Manon, Chris Algebra prelim committee Shao, Fernando Algebra prelim committee

Perry, Peter Chair, Analysis Complex/Real prelim committee

Chung, Francis Analysis prelim committee Hislop, Peter Analysis prelim committee

Braun, Ben Chair, Discrete Mathematics prelim committee Readdy, Margaret Discrete Mathematics prelim committee (January)

Yip, Martha Discrete Mathematics prelim committee

Zhou, Yuan Discrete Mathematics prelim committee (Summer)

Murrugarra, David Chair, Numerical Analysis prelim committee

Lu, Ding Numerical Analysis prelim committee
Qin, Jing Numerical Analysis prelim committee

Tohaneanu, Mihai Chair, Partial Differential Equations prelim committee
Shen, Zhongwei Partial Differential Equations prelim committee
Hislop, Peter Partial Differential Equations prelim committee

Guillou, Bert Chair, Topology prelim committee (January)
Ponto, Kate Chair, Topology prelim committee (Summer)
Debray, Arun Topology prelim committee (January)

Guillou, Bert Topology prelim committee (Summer)

Stapleton, Nat Topology prelim committee

Alumni Day Committee

Nagel, Uwe Tohaneanu, Mihai Xu, Yiming

Research

Hislop, Peter Ohio River Analysis Meeting organizing committee Tohaneanu, Mihai

Tohaneanu, Mihai MSRI Liason

Seminar organizers

Mehrle, David Math Club Coordinator
Jensen, Dave Algebra Seminar
Tohaneanu, Mihai PDE Seminar

Yip, Martha Discrete Seminar – Fall Readdy, Margaret Discrete Seminar – Spring

Mehrle, David Topology Seminar Guillou, Bert Topology Seminar Murrugarra, David Applied Seminar

Paullin, Katie Teaching and Learning Seminar TBD Putnam and VTRMC Coach

Course Coordinators

MA 109	Chloe Wawrzyniak Fall, Mario Midence Ordonez Spring
MA 110	Brad Elliott
MA 111	Scott Hader
MA 113	David Murrugarra
MA 114	erica Whitaker
MA 123	Kyle Golenbiewski
MA 137	Jack Schmidt
MA 138	Alberto Corso
MA 162	Jonathan Clark Fall, Praneel Samanta Spring
MA 201/202	Austin Alderete
MA 213	Martha Yip
MA 214	Kyle Golenbiewski
MA 322	Heide Gluesing-Luerssen

Outreach

Math Circle Organizer (no organizer 2024-25)

University and College Committees

Elliott, Brad Academic Preparation and Placement Program

Gluesing-Luerssen, Heide Provost Area Committee

Nguyen, Nicholas Core Education Committee, Faculty Senate

Paullin, Katherine Educational Policy Committee, College of Arts and Sciences

Whitaker, Erica Academic Preparation and Placement Program

Corso, Alberto University Senate

Yip, Martha Graduate School Committee on Fellowships and Traineeships

Wawrzyniak, Chloe Undergraduate Council

Mentors

Ye, Qiang Mentor for Ding Lu

Braun, Ben Mentor for Jonathan Clark

Gluesing-Luerssen, Heide Mentor for Jing Qin

Braun, Ben Mentor for Khrystyna Serhiyenko

Shen, Zhongwei Mentor for Yuan Zhou Nguyen, Nicholas Mentor for Brad Elliott

Schmidt, Jack Mentor for Chloe Wawrzyniak
Stapleton, Nat Mentor for David Mehrle
Nguyen, Nicholas Mentor for Michael Baker
Gluesing-Luersen Mentor for Praneel Samanta

Chung, Francis Mentor for Mario Midence Ordonez

Whitaker, erica Mentor for Scott Hader